TH&B 70 Ton Hoppers: simmering on the side burner

It seems that nearly everyone in this hobby has a number of projects on the go at the same time.  Some of my friends talk about so many projects they have at different stages that it makes me wonder how they ever finish anything.   I’m just as guilty of this same habit.  If you browse through this blog, you’ll see that the project I currently have on the front-burner is the ore car assembly line.  I have about three other projects that receive my attention when I’m taking a bit of down time from the ore cars.  Some of them are nothing more than a locomotive or freight car in a box and a heavy dose of wishful thinking.

The urge to stock up on more projects is nearly overwhelming for me, to the extent that it takes a great deal of restraint to keep from buying dozens of things I’d like to get around to building some day.  However, my urge to start more projects is overpowered by my desire to keep clutter at bay.

Those projects that reside almost entirely in my imagination are occasionally fuelled by some new information or a new product that I find.  I recently stopped in at my local hobby store to browse their paints.  I was looking for something to give me a starting point for the polished steel interior of the ore cars.  On the way to the register, I spotted a set of Aberdeen Car Shops decals for a TH&B 70 ton hopper.  The decals made me think of a  pair of undecorated 70 ton hoppers living in a box, on a shelf, in my basement. The project has been on hold, awaiting a time when I could attend to replacing the cast on grabs and steps with parts that are bit less chunky.  I’d already acquired the necessary dry transfers quite some time ago, but these decals in the store were nicer by far, so they came home with me.

A had to unpack the 70 ton hoppers to bring this “wishful thinking” project up to the side-burner.  Looking over the models to plan my approach to the project, I decided I should open the decal package to have a closer look at the contents.  Aberdeen Car Shops includes a detailed information sheet explaining the years these cars were in use, and to which particular services and industries they were assigned.  This excellent information indicated that these cars were in use between Inco’s Port Colborne plant and their facility in Clarabelle (outside of Sudbury).  This information would be useful for providing car routing on the WRMRC, so I contacted the TH&B Historical Society to gather more information.  Lance Brown and Nelson Allison were immensely helpful in providing lots of background information and photos for this project, which I’ll share in an upcoming series of posts on this blog.

This project has moved from the back burner up to the side burner, vying against those ore cars for space on my workbench.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “TH&B 70 Ton Hoppers: simmering on the side burner

  1. Pingback: Solar Car Assembly Kit | Electric Cars For Kids

Leave a Reply

