Michigan Central Railroad Co. Daily Fuel Report

My recent move to a new home caused me to clear out the loft above my garage and sort the junk from the treasures among the detritus of my past.  At the back of the loft, I found four sealed boxes with a cursory list of the contents written on the side in my hand.  

Finding these four boxes was like meeting up with an old acquaintance.  When I got back into model railroading after my long hiatus, I took stock of everything I had on hand.  I had an inkling that there were things for which I could not account.  I wasn’t certain of the exact items, but just knew there was more.  The discovery of these boxes gave me the satisfaction that perhaps this mystery was solved.

Last night, I finally had the opportunity to open one of the boxes.  This particular box was one that was sealed many moves before the purchase of the home we just left.  To the best of my recollection, this was a time capsule of things that were packed away some time around 1986.

In a suitably worn frame and protected under glass, I found this long forgotten document:

IMG_2255If one reads the form as if the information has been put into the appropriate columns, the date and place seem reasonable.  It appears that on April 22, 1901, Michigan Central locomotive 449 took on 8 tons of coal at Leamington Ontario.

Or not.

The document is cryptic to me. There is some sort of reckoning on the bottom right where it seems the signatory has done the following calculations:

900+60000=60900

60900-16000=44900

449 shows up in two unrelated places – the result of a calculation and in the column under the heading Eng.  The handwriting isn’t very legible, and the fact that I’m not sure of the context makes it even more difficult for me to decipher.  I don’t think I ever knew the meaning of the document.  I probably framed it because it was old and it said “Michigan Central Railroad Co.” on the letterhead.  Maybe someone can shed some light on its meaning.

Regardless of its meaning, I’m happy to be reacquainted with this old keepsake. 

Leave a Reply

