CP SW1200RS project back on the rails – Sideframe Details

With the help of some friends, we’ve come up with a solution for the broken axle/gear that stopped this project dead in its tracks.  Jurgen has a P2K SW9/1200 that he’s currently not using.  He will lend the necessary part to me in order to keep the project moving.  Justin has the same model that I can use as a parts source, but I have to wait until he moves into his new house and unpacks before I can tear it apart.   I’ll return Jurgen’s part to him from Justin’s parts-source drive.  That’s a whole lot of parts-swapping from one friend to another.

While I was waiting to solve the broken drive issue, I proceeded with detailing the truck sideframes. I  cleaned the parting lines and drilled #78 holes into the ends of the brake cylinder parts that came with the Athearn sideframes.  After I had mounted them on the trucks sideframes, I made air lines from brass wire and glued them in place.

During the process of handling the sideframes, I noticed that the first ones that I modified were a bit sloppy.  I took the opportunity to remove the clips that I cut from the P2K trucks and start over.  They’re much more solid now.

I wanted to get the sideframes painted, so while I was at it, I painted some of the etched parts that will be installed soon.

IMG_2184

The prototype photos that serve as my guide show two flange-type speed recorders on the trailing truck.  On the engineer’s side, the speed recorder is on the rear journal.  On the fireman’s side, it’s on the forward journal.  I used Details Associates parts for these.  Here’s one of the four speed-recorder equipped sideframes all painted and ready for weathering.

IMG_2187I need to put decals on the models before I install any of the small detail parts.  Many of those parts still need paint, so that’s where I’m headed next.

It’s good to see progress again.  I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “CP SW1200RS project back on the rails – Sideframe Details

Leave a Reply

