Lehigh Valley X-58 Decal Dilemma

I started to apply the decals to my Railyard Models X-58 boxcar over the weekend.  I trimmed the letters into vertical pairs in order to apply between the ribs of the boxcar.  All was going swimmingly right up to the point that the decals were floating in a puddle of water in their respective places.

IMG_0142The ‘L’ and ‘V’ pair split apart from each other while I was moving them into position.  I managed to save the letters because the tear happened in the clear part of the decal.

Next, the ‘E’ and ‘A’ pair gave me grief.  The letter ‘E’ tore in two places.  It took some patience to save it.  The following two pairs went on without incident, and then the ‘G’ started to disintegrate.  I worked carefully and slowly, manipulating the pieces of torn decal with an extremely delicate touch.  Then, as if in the ultimate show of defiance, the ‘H’ fell apart into a multitude of little black shards.  The photo above shows the outcome after everything settled in.

I can easily touch up the ‘G’ with a spot of paint, and I can build a new ‘H’ from some black decal sheet (which I received in the mail last week), but I’m not proceeding until I spray the decal sheet with some of this stuff:

liquiddecalfilmOf course, I can’t find my bottle of Microscale Liquid Decal Film, which is making me wonder if I ever had one.  My work space isn’t so messy that I could lose something like this.

I think we have some at the club, so I’ll have to rejuvenate the decal sheet on Wednesday.  This project is on hold again for a few days.  Sometimes you have to just walk away.

2 thoughts on “Lehigh Valley X-58 Decal Dilemma

  1. Good idea Ben. A patch job could work on the club layout, but that would preclude running it on my home layout set in the Penn Central era. Regardless, of that, I still need the remainder of the set for the numerals, data, and reporting marks. I borrowed a bottle of Liquid Decal Film from my friend Ted and I’ll get a chance to spray the rest of the set this weekend.

Leave a Reply

