A Cold Sunday Afternoon

It appears we are experiencing the winter that will never end, here in southern Ontario.  When I woke up at 9am on Sunday, it was -10 Celcius.  We achieved a high of -7 Celcius in the afternoon, though it was very sunny.  I walked the dog in the sun and then sat down to work on the lettering for three models.

IMG_0180I’ll progress from top to bottom.

Penn Central N8 caboose 23298 now has all of its lettering applied. It’s posed with the roof and cupola resting in place.  I’m ready to spray flat finish onto it and weather both porches before I proceed further with the assembly.

Penn Central X58B boxcar 361520 finally received a road number.  I still have to apply the end lettering, but I want everything to settle into place on the sides before I start propping the model up on its end.

Lehigh Valley X58 boxcar 8203 has all but the end lettering applied, for the same reason as the PC boxcar.  Microscale’s Liquid Decal Film worked like a charm to fix up the crumbling decals that came with this Railyard Models kit.  Thanks Ted.  I’ll make a note to buy my own bottle 😉

3 thoughts on “A Cold Sunday Afternoon

  1. I’m really enjoying the steady stream of Penn Central stuff. Keep it coming.

    It occured to me that it has been very accomodating of winter to extend its reach further into spring so we have a few extra days to get all those indoor projects completed without feeling guilty for wasting time indoors. Funny the things you think when it’s still cold outside and with another snow storm looming in the next couple of days (here on the Island).

    • Environment Canada reports that the temperature got up to -4 Celcius today. I think they’re lying in order to prevent a public uprising. We had a biting cold wind today, so it certainly felt much colder.

      Oh, and it’s snowing right now (sigh).

Leave a Reply

