I’m Still Here

IMG_7957

I’ve taken a long and unintended break from writing blog updates, so here’s what’s been happening with me.

Firstly, the weather.  I’ve reached, and perhaps surpassed the limit of my patience with the winter that will never end.  We have no control over the weather, so it’s a waste of energy to fret about it.  I try to tolerate or even embrace winter, as much as I can, but I’m ready to move on.  Winter just doesn’t seem to understand that we’ve broken up.  Seriously, Winter,  you need to get a hobby, spend some time with friends, maybe take a vacation, because it’s over between us.  That’s all I have to say about that.

Next up.. the layout.  It’s currently in the full-size track planning state, which means it’s a series of Fast Tracks switch templates tacked to a 12′ long by 14″ wide shelf.  I’m using cardboard boxes as building mock-ups and moving cars around by hand to test the various moves required to spot and lift cars.  I’m on the third iteration of the track plan.  I’ll blog about this soon.

Rolling stock and locomotive projects… I have a number of irons in the fire.  I’ve been waiting for parts and information on a range of projects.  I’ll try to do a roundup of my current projects, which can be categorized as…

  • Penn Central cabeese
  • Greenville 86′ auto parts (Athearn blue-box zombies)
  • Penn Central switchers (SW1500, S2, S3, S4)
  • Rail Yard Models X-58 boxcars

Lastly, I’ve been struggling with airbrush issues.  I’ll write up a blog post all about what’s going on with that.

Yesterday, I brought my friend Steven Lyons along with me to visit Trevor Marshall.  On the way into Toronto, Steven and I stopped at Credit Valley where we bumped into Dan Kirlin, and being a Saturday, Roger Chrysler was working.  After we got caught up with Dan and Roger, I bought rail, spikes, and other stuff from my shopping list.  Now I can get to work on those projects that have been languishing for while.

At Trevor’s place, we ran a three-man crew into Port Rowan with Steven at the throttle, Trevor doing brakeman duties, and me being all bossy as the conductor. Steven and Trevor are both building layouts that depict southern Ontario CN branch lines in the early 1950s, and they are both fine modellers, so there was much common ground there.  That brings me back to the top of this blog post: a photo of a restored CN van at Owen Sound.  The photo was taken from a post on Adam Walker’s blog about a trip he made to Owen Sound in 2011.  I don’t know Adam, but I like his blog.  You should check it out.  Here’s another of his shots of that van.

IMG_7943_thumb

 

 

Leave a Reply

