Weathering Experiment – P&LE Twin Hopper

I’ve been selling off all of my older models, but I still have a small assortment of old RTR cars that don’t conform to my preferred standard for models on my layout. Those standards include things like wire grabs, metal wheels, Kadee “scale” couplers, NMRA weight, sharp lettering (either custom or neatly printed factory lettering). Some of these older models serve as test subjects for experiments in weathering techniques. While flipping through the NYC Color Guide to Freight and Passenger Equipment, I saw a very cool P&LE hopper on page 60 (bottom photo for those of you who own the book). I decided to try my hand at reproducing the extreme weathering on this car using one of my ‘disposable’ Blue-Box models.

My first attempt was done with paint, and it went into the dustbin. I tried a combination of paint and weathering powders and here are the results:

IMG_9582

IMG_9588

The prototype car is completely rusted out but still in service. The patch on the side of the prototype car is not legible in the photo, but I made some assumptions about what would printed there. Holding the model next to the photograph in the book, I think the experiment was a success, and I had fun doing it.

Now I need to find an undecorated Kadee twin hopper and do this over again. Until I sell this one, it’s allowed to be an understudy on my layout.

4 thoughts on “Weathering Experiment – P&LE Twin Hopper

  1. Those weathering powders can produce nice textured effects, and the rust is very good. I do wish that they had a very dark brown to simulate old, wet rust.

    I have found with the Instant Weathering powders that you can dip and brush in water and then pick some powder up and paint it onto surfaces. I use that technique to weather car wheels without removing them from the trucks: just get a wet glob of dark brown on the brush, touch it to the wheel and spin the wheel to coat the whole wheel centre. When it dries, it’s flat and there are no brush marks.

Leave a Reply

