Ontario Northland Boxcars – Some Weathering

I like using photographs to check the progress of my weathering. Not sure how I feel about how this one is shaping up, but most of what’s on it can come off again. So far, I’ve done a fade with white acrylics, some streaking with grime coloured acrylics, and some rust and grime buildup with powders. This is the first non-practice model on which I’ve used artist acrylics for weathering. I’ve been using oils for a while. I like the fact that acrylics speed things up nicely.

IMG_9988

13 thoughts on “Ontario Northland Boxcars – Some Weathering

  1. I think it looks pretty good in the photo. Those jade cars started looking ugly pretty fast (not sure what they were thinking painting them jade in the first place, really…)

    Jurgen

    • I try to weather in stages. I’ve gone over this model three times so far. Twice with paint and once with powders. Now it’s time to let it be for a while and see how I like it in a few days. It’s a wonder I ever finish anything at this pace.

    • Thanks for complement. I’ll write up some more details about that building in the background, but basically, it’s scratch built with either Evergreen styrene, Grandt Line or Tichy windows (can’t remember which), Pikestuff roll-up doors, Plastruct pipe elbows and structural trusses, and some brass tubing. I also used a small sheet metal structure from a Walthers kit. Paint is Tamiya from a rattle can. Weathering is india ink and powders.

  2. Hey Hunter,
    Great start, I’ve always been a fan of light to medium amounts of weathering. Jurgen is correct, won’t take much to mess them up!!

    Best, Scott

  3. You really pinned down correctly the ladder roof detail. I’ll probably have to reshop some one mine. I find acrylics yield great results. I only used oils when I want a dirty wash or some particular streaking. Acrylics are really helpful to get nice flat dusty look or faded color. I’m always skeptical when I see people thinking weathering is only a dirty solution you did a car into. Doing in steps as you do is more correct, even from a prototypical standpoint and it shows well in your model.

  4. Have you tried using some of those pastel chalks? Since I don’t have an airbrush, I opted for this. It works really great, only problem being that you sometimes need to redo certain parts to get a little darker effect.

  5. Do you have a prototype photo for comparison? I was wondering if the lettering might look to crisp compared to the green fading, but I am not sure how the prototype looks. No doubt, this is a great looking model, but there must be something about it you feel is not quite there in matching the prototype. Otherwise you’d be done, right! 🙂

    • I’m working from some prototype photos. There are lots of them on the web. My approach to weathering is to take it slow and come back to the model a few times until I’m happy with it. I think this car is done.

  6. That car looks just great. I think you have the right idea–do some weathering, step away from it for a bit, then come back and see if it needs any more or not–too much is just as glaringly obvious as no weathering, in my opinion!

Leave a Reply

